Current Board Members

The 11-member board is comprised of the Superintendent of Public Instruction or designee, six members of the general public one of whom shall reside on an Indian reservation, two members of the business community, one charter school operator, and one charter school teacher. With the exception of the Superintendent of Public Instruction/superintendent’s designee, whose term coincides with the Superintendent’s term in office, all members are appointed by the Governor to serve four-year terms. Additionally, the President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives appoint three non-voting advisory members of the legislature.

Board members are ultimately responsible for the Board’s authorizing activities, including but not limited to decisions to grant, renew or revoke a charter.