Arizona State Board for Charter Schools

1760 W. Washington Street, Room 164
Phoenix, AZ 85007

Phone: (602) 364-3080
Fax:  (602) 364-3089

April 13,2010

New World Educational Center
Gordon Ilstrup, Charter Representative
1313 North 2nd Street, Suite 200
Phoenix, AZ 85004

RE:  Notification of first time noncompliance with fingerprinting requirements under A.R.S. §
15-185.1

HAND DELIVERED TO SCHOOL

Dear Mr. Ilstrup:

On April 13, 2010, staff of the Arizona State Board for Charter Schools (“Board”) conducted a
site visit to New World Educational Center. During this visit, staff reviewed the school’s
compliance with fingerprinting requirements as prescribed in AR.S. § 15-183.C.4 and AR.S. §
15-512.

The school could not proviae valid fingerprint clearance cards in accordance with A.R.S. § 15-
183.C.4 for the following:

Josue Martinez

The school could not provide evidence of compliance with A.R.S. § 15-183.C.4 or § 15-512, as
applicable, for the following personnel:

“To foster accountability in charter schools, which will improve student achievement through market choice.”



AR.S. § 15-185.1 (Laws 2007, 1™ Reg. Sess., ch. 6) grants the Board the authority to impose a
civil penalty of $1,000.00 per occurrence if a charter school fails to comply with the
fingerprinting requirements prescribed in A.R.S. § 15-183.C.4 or A.R.S. § 15-512, as applicable.
This law took effect on September 19, 2007.

This letter serves as written notice for civil penalty purposes under A.R.S. § 15-185.1 of your
school’s first time failure to comply with statutory fingerprinting requirements. Pursuant to
AR.S. § 15-185.1, your school has 48 hours from the receipt of this notification to provide proof
to the Board’s office that an application for the appropriate fingerprint check as required by
either A.R.S. § 15-183.C.4 or A.R.S. § 15-512 has been received by the Arizona Department of
Public Safety for each individual listed above and currently employed at your school. At its
meeting on Monday, May 10, 2010, the Board will determine whether the school has failed to
comply with statutory fingerprinting requirements, whether the school’s noncompliance with
statutory fingerprinting requirements is a first time occurrence, whether the school has
demonstrated compliance with the requirements of A.R.S. § 15-185.1 within 48 hours of written
notification, and whether a civil penalty of $1,000.00 per occurrence will be imposed. Based on
the violations noted above, the civil penalty could be as much as $1,000.

Provided with this letter are copies of A.R.S. § 15-185.1 (Laws 2007, 1™ Reg. Sess., ch. 6) and
the Board’s Policy Statement on Civil Penalties for Fingerprinting Violations.

If you have any questions, please contact me at (602) 364-3080.
Sirr?cerely,

(Mm L

Andrea Leder
Government & Financial Services Manager

The signatures and information below satisfy the requirements of the Board in A.R.S. § 15-185.1,
to provide written notification identifying the date of the deadline by which your school must
provide proof of compliance with statutory fingerprinting requirements.
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BASED ON THE DATE AND TIME STATED ABOVE, YOUR 48-HOUR DEADLINE
TO PROVIDE PROOF OF COMPLIANCE WITH STATUTORY FINGERPRINTING
REQUIREMENTS AS STATED IN A.R.S. § 15-185. AND TO AVOID CIVIL
PENALTIES IS THURSDAY, APRIL 15,2010 BY _Si\S _@ / P.M.



